header-l header-r
April 14, 2011

PLU Rowers Host Meyer Lamberth Cup on Sunday

GOLUTES - ROWING: Pacific Lutheran hosts Puget Sound in the annual Meyer Lamberth Cup on American Lake. The first race starts at 9:15 a.m. Spectators may view the end of each race from Harry Todd Park.

RACE SCHEDULE: The competition gets underway at 9:15 a.m. with the Lamberth Cup, which features the women's varsity 4. The Mini Meyer Cup goes off at 9:30, followed by the Mini Lamberth Cup at 10:15 a.m. The Meyer Cup, the men's varsity 8 race, starts at 10:30 a.m. The Neils Cup race pitting alumni boats is scheduled to start at 11 a.m.

RIVALRY RENEWED: Puget Sound has had a run of success in both cup races in recent years. The Meyer Cup, presented to the winning men's varsity 8+ crew, has gone to the Loggers 10 straight years dating back to the 2001 event. It should be noted that the 2007 Meyer Cup race pitted the men's varsity 4+ crews against each. The Lamberth Cup, which historically has been awarded to the winner of the women's varsity 8+ race, has gone to the Loggers nine straight years. This year's Lamberth Cup will feature the varsity 4+ teams.

MEYER CUP HISTORY: The Meyer Cup dates back to the 1964 season, and though Puget Sound has won 10 straight, Pacific Lutheran still holds the all-time lead in the series with 28 wins compared to 19 for the Loggers. PLU has the long winning streak in the series with 11 straight triumphs starting with the opening Meyer Cup in 1964 and ending in 1974. The Lutes also enjoyed an eight-race winning streak from 1993-2000. Puget Sound's current 10-race streak accounts for more than half of its wins in the series. The Loggers won the 2010 version of the Meyer Cup, Puget Sound clocking 6:48.6, followed by PLU in 6:59.2.

LAMBERTH CUP HISTORY: The Lamberth Cup started in 1977, and like the Meyer Cup, has been in the possession of the Pacific Lutheran crew for the majority of its existence. The Lutes won the Cup five straight times from 1977-81, 14 straight times from 1984-97, and for three years in a row from 1999-2001 for a total of 22 wins. Puget Sound won the Lamberth Cup in 1982-83, 1998, and each year since 2002 for a total of 12 Cup victories. Last year, the UPS women's varsity 8 finished the 2000-meter course in a time of 7:40.4 compared to PLU's 8:20.4.

THE MINI RACES: Several other trophies are on the line when the two schools hit the water on Saturday morning. The inaugural Mini Meyer Cup and Mini Lamberth Cup races were started in 2004 with the intention of pitting the schools' novice 8 crews against each other. The 2010 Mini Meyer will feature those teams, while the Mini Lamberth will go with the women's novice 4+ crews. On the men's side, UPS has won every Mini Meyer Cup, with the the men's varsity 4 boats competing in 2006 and the men's novice 4 boats going at it in 2008. On the women's side, PLU won the Mini-Lamberth Cup in 2004 and again in 2006, while Puget Sound has wins in the other five races.

ALUMNI LUNCHEON ON APRIL 17: The newly formed Lute Crew Alumni Association (LCAA) is holding a casual luncheon upstairs in the boathouse following the Meyer Lamberth Cup Regatta on Sunday, April 17. The luncheon will begin at about noon. LCAA board members will be introduced, and the purpose and function of the LCAA - to support and raise funds for PLU Rowing - will be outlined. All former Lute rowers are encouraged to attend, renew old friendships, meet the current crew, and to get involved in planning for a great future for PLU Rowing. RSVP for event to Dave Peterson at davepeterson@betterproperties.com, or by calling 253-222-8480.

- PLU -