Choose Sport

  • All
  • M
  • W
No Events

Hodkinson Seventh at NCAA XC Championships

Hodkinson Seventh at NCAA XC Championships

Contact: Mark Albanese, Director of Sports Communication

Official Results

ELSAH, Ill. -Pacific Lutheran University men's cross country student-athlete Brad Hodkinson capped off another stellar season on Saturday, placing seventh at the NCAA Division III Championships to secure All-American accolades for the second consecutive year.

"Brad ran like a true champion today," said Head Coach Adam Frye. "He ran a smart, gritty race over the hills on a cold, windy day and was rewarded with a top-ten finish.I couldn't be more proud of his effort today!"

The 2017 Northwest Conference Runner of the Year covered the 8,000-meter course at Principia College's North Farm Course in 24 minutes, 32.25 seconds, finishing seventh overall. Hodkinson ran a patient race, sitting in 20th place after the first mile before crossing the two mile mark in 15th position. The Snohomish, Washington native methodically moved up the race over the next two miles, crossing the four mile marker in eighth place en route to the top 10 finish.

"Today was a great day for a cross country race," said Hodkinson. "It was a tough course filled with hills and good competition. I made sure to be patient at the start and executed the plan Adam and I had talked about to the best of my ability."

Hodkinson finished as the fastest runner from the West Region and improved his placing at the national meet for the second straight season. The junior finished 187th at nationals as a first year in 2015 before finishing as an All-American last season after crossing the tape in 35th.

"I was happy with where I ended up finishing. I'm also very thankful for the amazing people I am surrounded by who have helped me to get where I am in my running career and the awesome coaching staff."

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire's Darin Lau won the individual national title, besting the 279-competitor field with a time of 24:03.59. North Central College won the team title, scoring 57 points with University of Wisconsin-La Crosse taking second billing with a team tally of 216.