header-l header-r
October 30, 2010

Women Sixth, Men Ninth at NWC Championships

LAKEWOOD - Suzy Olsen earned second team all-conference honors, leading the Pacific Lutheran women to a sixth-place finish at the Northwest Conference Cross Country Championships at Fort Steilacoom Park.

Olsen, a sophomore, placed 13th overall in a time of 23:25.01 over the 6000-meter course. Katie Gebert, another sophomore, was 16th in a time of 23:36.24 to help the Lutes.

Lewis & Clark won the women's team championship with 43 points, followed by Whitworth with 73, Willamette 94, Whitman 100, Linfield 113, PLU 137, Puget Sound 194, Pacific 216 and George Fox 224. Willamette's Kimber Mattox was the individual winner in a time of 22:09.52.

Rounding out the PLU results were Erinn Kuest, 27th in 24:01.48, Eric Johnson, 40th in 24:33.48, Jill Kuschel, 46th in 24:53.67, Allison Young, 50th in 25:00.66, Alyssa Rowland, 60th in 25:27.66, Candace Attwood, 69th in 26:01.70, Rebekah Blakney, 77th in 26:28.54, and Chiara Rose-Witt, 80th in 27:58.62.

The PLU men had hoped to battle for a spot somewhere in the middle of the nine-team conference, but instead the Lutes came in last place.

Whitworth won the team title with 33 points, followed by Willamette with 36, Lewis & Clark 66, Linfield 116, George Fox 160, Whitman 162, Pacific 185, Puget Sound 202 and PLU 240. Leo Castillo from Willamette won the 8000-meter race in a time of 25:18.66.

John Phillips had PLU's best finish, coming across the line in 42nd place with a time of 27:27.33. The other PLU finishers: Alan DenAdel, 44th in 27:30.05; Sean Andrascik, 56th in 27:53.03; Alex Martin, 66th in 28:08.08; Kolter Grigsby, 67th in 28:12.67; Barrett Bollen, 70th in 28:19.34; Nathaniel Allen-Slaba, 77th in 28:49.46; Matt Beal, 83rd in 29;15.39; Nick Steele, 87th in 29:38.85; and Kyle Smith, 88th in 29:46.96.

- PLU -