header-l header-r
November 19, 2009

Ford Repeats On All-NWC Football First Team

All-NWC Football

Greg Ford, a junior wide receiver, has earned All-Northwest Conference First Team football honors for the second consecutive year. The all-conference team was announced earlier this week.

Joining Ford on the all-conference first team was senior defensive back Andy Sturza. PLU players named to the second team were junior quarterback Jordan Rasmussen, senior wide receiver Drew Griffin and senior defensive lineman Giustin Jenkins.

Ford (Steilacoom, Wash. / Steilacoom HS) led the Lutes and the entire Northwest Conference in with 70 receptions for 1,120 yards. His per game averages of 7.78 receptions and 124.4 yards also led the league and ranked him 17th and seventh, respectively, among NCAA Division III players. A two-time first team selection, he also earned second team honors in 2007, his freshman season. Ford caught 10 touchdown passes during a season in which he broke his own school record with 292 receiving yards against Gustavus Adolphus.

Sturza (Kingston, Wash. / North Kitsap HS) earned honorable mention all-conference honors as a linebacker last year but made the move to safety early in the season because of injury problems at the position. Sturza led the Lutes with 85 total tackles, almost 30 more than any of his teammates. He also finished the season with one interception, two fumble recoveries and two forced fumbles, and five pass break ups.

Rasmussen (University Place, Wash. / Curtis HS) finished the season completing 152-of-279 for 1,910 yards, 16 touchdowns and nine interceptions. Griffin (Vancouver, Wash. / Fort Vancouver HS), who earned second team honors a year ago at slot back, caught 39 passes for 370 yards and five touchdowns in addition to rushing for 166 yards and two scores this season. Jenkins (Snohomish, Wash. / Bellevue HS) earned second team honors for the second straight year after finishing the season with 43 total tackles, including 4.5 tackles for loss.

Lutes named to the honorable mention list on offense were senior tight end Monroe Samifua (White Center, Wash. / Evergreen HS), junior offensive linemen Sten Koos (Leavenworth, Wash. / Cascade HS) and Conor McNeill (McCleary, Wash. / Elma HS), junior wide receivers Kyle Whitford (Kailua, Hawaii / Punahou School) and Isaac Moog (Centralia, Wash. / Centralia HS), and sophomore offensive linemen Nick Oglesby (Snohomish, Wash. / Snohomish HS). Samifua finished the season with eight catches for 76 yards and a touchdown, Whitford had 35 catches for 364 yards and three touchdowns, and Moog added 33 receptions for 397 yards and two touchdowns. Koos, McNeill and Oglesby anchored an offensive line that helped the Lutes average 360.6 yards per game this season. 

PLU players named to the all-conference honorable mention team were senior defensive lineman Tony Slater (Everett, Wash. / Archbishop Murphy HS), senior linebacker Bryan Neumiller (Tacoma, Wash. / Franklin Pierce HS), and sophomore defensive lineman Erik Magnussen (East Wenatchee, Wash. / Eastmont HS). Slater led the Lutes with 12.5 tackles for loss (72 yards) and five quarterback sacks (42 yards), while Neumiller led the team with two interceptions and also finished second on the team with 47 total tackles. Magnussen ended the season with 40 tackles, three quarterback sacks and two fumble recoveries.

- PLU -